Packard Pokes At: A Thanksgiving Thank You

Hello,

Thank you for you continued support of Packard Pokes at by listening to us every week. On this special episode of Packard Pokes At, you will hear from everyone that makes this show possible and entertaining or you our listeners.

My thanks goes out to Eric @ihavenothoughts, Dan Johnson @RelUnrelated, Vonnie @Evolution_Child, and a special thanks to Zach @ZachsMind who not only fills in when someone on the show can’t make it but also being a great chat room moderator for the show when he is not on the mic with us each week.

The live show that we do each week can be found on http://www.justin.tv/packardpokesat  at 9 PM CDT (Central Daylight Time) or GMT (-5)  In the winter  months this will be at 9 PM CST (Central Standard Time) or GMT (-6). Please feel free to join us in the chat room on Justin.tv as it is free and lots of fun. From myself and everyone on the show, we thank you.

~Packard Sonic

Download: Packard Pokes At: A Thanksgiving Thank You MP3

I’d like to thank everyone who takes the time to listen to our podcast, whether live as we record it, or later in the week by downloading the show.

This show is a joy to participate in. Packard, Eric, Vonnie, and Zach are wonderful to chat with, whether it be during the show or by way of other media during the rest of the week. I’m pleased that we have several loyal listeners who join us in our weekly mayhem. Your support is welcome, and very much appreciated.

We’re taking this week off because of the holidays, but we look forward to poking at your news again next week. Thanks again for letting us be a part of your weekly routine.

~Dan @RelUnrelated

I would like to thank everyone for listening to the show.  We would not be here without you.

Eric  @ihavenothoughts

Happy Thanksgiving, everyone. I hope your day is spilling over with gratitude and goodness. 🙂

See you next time!

~Vonnie @Evolution_Child

To our friends & fans who are kind enough to listen to the Packard Pokes At podcasts, I feel I speak for all of us when I say we are thankful for you. I find myself of late contemplating repeatedly the old adage “if a tree falls in a forest but no one is around to hear it does it make a sound?” The answer is “yes, but if no one is around to hear it, who cares?” Thanks for caring, laughing with us and sharing our awe at the absurdities of public and private lives.

This Thanksgiving holiday has become an annual reminder to Americans and Canadians (who celebrate their own Thanksgiving around the time of the US Columbus Day *waves at Vonnie*) for what makes us grateful. When Packard asked me to record something for a special Thanksgiving podcast, I originally thought I’d research the history of the holiday and find out that there never was a pilgrim dinner with native Americans and that it’s all bogus. However, from Wikipedia to whitehouse.gov, i could find no evidence of conspiratorial fabrications. Many historians argue over whether the first Thanksgiving feast occurred in Florida, Virginia, or Massachusetts, but all historians agree that there was one. You can imagine my disappointment.

I don’t personally celebrate holidays anymore in any grand or official sense. I celebrate in small, personal ways. Ways that matter to me, as I hope you celebrate only in ways that mean something to you, and not in ways that others tell you that you should whether you enjoy it or not. This is my hope, that whatever you do on Thanksgiving, it be something you enjoy which matters to you in some significant way. I hope you have fun, and as if you need reminding, I hope you find in that fun a moment to be thankful for the fun you’ve had. As I read the presidential proclamations of Thanksgiving, from George Washington to Abraham Lincoln to George W. Bush, I found myself amused by how the need for a deity in our public consciousness is so prevalent in the prose.

I was originally going to record one of GWBush’s proclamations, until I read the most recent variant from our current Commander-In-Chief, Barack Obama. Some ppl believe Obama to be quietly atheist or agnostic, but that he only talks about God in order to get elected and reelected. I chose to recite his most recent Thanksgiving proclamation as one step toward dispelling that myth. His actual internal faith is not relevant. That he makes sounds like a Believer is indicative of government as a whole. I intentionally read the proclamation straight without any conscious sense of irony, but I was tickled at myself as I recorded it how sometimes the abuse of religious sentiment made it hard for me to record it w/o hints of sarcasm or the occasional juvenile giggle. Thanksgiving can be and is a secular holiday, but Believers don’t want people to know that.

I wanted to record the proclamation professionally, because I feel doing so underlines the inner absurdity of these proclamations. Objectively speaking I enjoy the tone and timber of the prose, even tho it’s formulaic & saccharine. I almost didn’t add any commentary at all, thinking making this my contribution to Packard’s Thanksgiving special would typify my absurd attitude towards the holiday. However, after getting that mouthful off my chest, I had to add something at the end. Atheists are Americans too. We are no less capable of celebrating this holiday than any other American. We just don’t find evidence that day, or any other day, is demonstrably holy. There is (allegedly) a separation of church and state for a reason, but in a not so subtle way, arguably that separation is in words only in the Constitution. Spirituality has never fully been exorcised from American politics. Until it is, the exercise of politics in the United States will continue to be a farce. Fortunately, I enjoy farces. I find them entertaining.

Thanks again for listening,

~ZachsMind @ZachsMind

Remember to send us any questions on formspring http://www.formspring.me/PackardPokesAt or send an email to us at packardpokesat @ gmail.com

http://www.podtrac.com/audience/start-survey.aspx?pubid=CInGTEhcAy0$&ver=standard



Leave a Reply

